Prof. Elias N.K. Sowley is a seasoned academic with vast experience in higher education and quality assurance. He obtained his BSc. (Hon) in Botany and Diploma in Education from the University of Cape Coast. He did the one year National Service and worked for two additional years before proceeding to the University of Ghana, Legon where he pursued MPhil Crop Science (Plant Pathology Option). After graduating from the University of Ghana, he was employed as Senior Research Assistant by the University for Development Studies in May 2000 and was upgraded to to a Lecturer in January, 2001. He worked in this position until he was offered a Government of Ghana Scholarship to pursue a Ph.D programme at the University of Reading, UK in 2003. He successfully graduated in 2007 and returned to UDS, where he continued as a Lecturer until he was promoted to a Senior Lecturer in January, 2011 and then Associate Prof. in July, 2016.

Until his appointment as VC of DHLTU, Prof. Sowley was the Dean of Graduate School, UDS, Tamale. He had also served as Director of Academic Planning and Quality Assurance; Head of Agronomy Department, Acting Dean of Students Affairs and Postgraduate Programmes Coordinator in the same University. He also served as Convocation Representative (Professorial) on the Governing Council (2016 – 2018) and member of the Academic Board (2001 – 2003 and 2008 – 2021). Many Universities and other Higher Institutions within and outside Ghana have benefited from his services as External Examiner, External Assessor and Quality Assurance Expert.

Prof. Sowley has been a member of several local and international professional associations and societies. He is a Fellow of the Ghana Institute of Horticulturists (GhIH) and the Chartered Institute of Leadership and Governance (CILG). Prof. Sowley has been the National President of the Ghana Institute of Horticulturists from 2017 to date. He is also a member of several other Professional Associations and Societies including the British Society for Plant Pathology (2004 to date); Canadian Phytopathological Society (2007 to date) and Ghana Science Association (1998 to date)